Super Hero Birthday Card

Standard

Hi everyone!  Welcome to my blog.  This is my very first post and I’m trying desperately to figure it all out so please have patience.

Last weekend my son had a birthday party to go to and I decided to make a birthday card with my Close To My Heart (CTMH) Super Powers stamp set and Superhero paper pack.  Such a cute set for boy projects.  I came up with a step card which I have been wanting to try and here is what came out…

First I cut the step card shape out from the comic strip patterned paper CS and scored and folded it to make the appropriate steps.  I found the template and instructions for the step card on Photobucket.

Next I stamped the city skyline onto Moonstruck CS with Outdoor Denim ink and cut it out.  I pasted it onto the front of the card and added a strip of preprinted star border onto the bottom to make it look a bit more finished.

The super hero was stamped and coloured with Copic markers.  My colouring skills are pretty limited so I tried to keep it simple – blue and yellow for the suit, skin colour for the face and hands and brown for the hair.  I popped him up with dimmensionals onto a star background that I cut out with my CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.  He was stuck onto the second step of the card along with a bit more city skyline.

The sentiment shape was also cut out with the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.   I had to use the masking technique to stamp the sentiment and then I added some sparkle to SUPER with a blue glitter gel pen.  The rocket ship was stamped onto patterned paper and cut out by hand.  This is my favourite part of the card.  I love how the stripes look!  The background is just 3 layers of cardstock (Cranberry, Sky and patterned paper).  I popped up the rocket and sentiment on the background using dimmensionals then added some bling for interest (gotta have bling even on a boys card).  I glued the background onto the back step of the card and Voila! a cute boy birthday card.

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

Leave a Reply

