Unicorn Birthday Party Invitation

Standard

For today’s post I decided to share the birthday party invitations that I made for my daughter’s 4th birthday party. She loves mythological creatures (she calls them mythies) and decided she wanted a unicorn theme this year. So I set about trying to find a unicorn stamp set which was not easy! Finally after checking out the internet and driving around to a few different craft stores I came across this cute little stamp from the Stamp Barn’s Enchanted Hollow series.

Of course my daughter loves pink and purple (what 4 year old girl doesn’t) so those are the colours I used on the invites.   Here is the final version but I’ll show you how I got there.

I used a 4.25×5.5 card base in Colonial White and cut a piece of Blush CS to 4×5.25 which I ran through my Cuddlebug with the Swiss Dots embossing folder for the background.  I stamped the unicorn onto a 3.25×3.25 piece of Gina K Pure Luxury 120lb Heavy Base Weight card stock.  This paper is fantastic for colouring with Copic markers.

I really liked the look of the original picture that came with the stamp so I based my colouring on it.   After stamping the image I took a CTMH sponge dauber, loaded it up with Blush ink, blotted it, then started transferring the ink onto the middle section of the card in a circular motion.  This looks kind of mystical to me and sure beats colouring in the whole unicorn!

Next I coloured in the berries and vines and the unicorn’s horn, mane and tail with Copic markers.  The colours I used were YG93 Grayish Yellow for the vines, RV19 for the berries, and BV000 Iridescent Mauve and BV04 Blue Berry for the horn, mane and tail.  And to finish it off I added clear glitter gel pen to the swirls in the mane and tail (not very visible in the picture).

I matted the stamped image with CTMH’s Spring Iris CS and rounded the corners of both with my corner rounder.  I glued this onto the Blush CS background.  The sentiment tag layers were cut out with the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut Cartridge.  I love the swirls on the purple top layer (Spring Iris again) of the tag.  It matches nicely with the swirls on the tail and mane.  The bottom layer of the tag was cut out from Colonial White CS and stamped with Blush ink and then gone over with a pink glitter gel pen (I told you I love my glitter pens!).  Two pink rhinestones were added to finish off the look.

The last detail I added was the pink bow in the top left corner.  It was looking kind of bare up there so I thought a little bow would fit the bill nicely.  So that’s it.  Luckily I only had to make 4 of them!  I hope today’s post has left you with some birthday invitation inspiration (say that 3 times fast!) of your own.

Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

Leave a Reply

