Happy Moments Scrapbook Page

Standard

Hello happy crafters!  The sun is shining, the snow is melting and the clocks have gone ahead an hour – all sure signs of spring!  And to match that happy thought today’s project has lots of flowers on it.

I have been trying to finish a scrapbook calendar for my husband to take to work and thought I’d share the latest page.  I am trying to get the whole thing done before 2012 ends! LOL!  I only have three more pages to go so hopefully it will be complete before the end of March.  It has been quite an undertaking since I actually hand stamped all the numbers plus added in little extras for birthday and holiday reminders.  Anyway, without further adieu here is the finished 12×12 page (minus the calendar section)…

I used a gorgeous layout sketch I found on Pinterest for this page.  Thank goodness for you super talented people who come up with these layouts to help people like me out!  It really speeds up the process and the results are fantastic.  The materials I used were the Close To My Heart (CTMH) Florentine paper pack (pg 52 of the Spring/Summer 2012 Idea Book) and two stamp sets – Happy Moments and Love Life.

The first thing I did was cut out my basic shapes for the page.  This included a piece of 4×12 CS in Twilight, a 5×8 piece of floral patterned paper, a 4.5 inch circle frame in Garden Green CS, a 3.5 inch scalloped circle frame in blue patterned paper, a 3 inch circle frame in Twilight CS and a 4.5 inch circle in orange patterned paper.  The circles were cut out using the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.

I printed out and cropped my photos to fit in the circle frames and then adhered the shapes onto my 12×12 piece of Vanilla Cream CS.  Once these were adhered I began my stamping.  For all the swirls and curlycues I used Twilight ink.

I stamped some tiny flowers and hearts directly onto the paper around the curlycues using Sorbet (orange) ink.  This helps tie in the stamped images with the patterned background paper.

The rest of the stamping was done on Colonial White CS and cut out.  I used three colours of ink for the flowers – Garden Green, Sorbet and Twilight.  I stamped them in one colour and then rolled the edges in another colour to get that multicoloured look.  Here is a look at of one of the flowers before it was assembled…

A silver brad was used to hold the clear flower button and pieces of flower together.  Here is the after…

Besides using stamped flowers I also used a couple of orange paper flowers that I had laying around my craft room.  All the flowers were assembled before they were glued onto the page.  That gave me the opportunity to play with the placement a bit and come up with something I liked.

The last thing I did was cut out and stamp the sentiment.  Once again the flower was cut out using the Cricut.  One layer in green and the other in Colonial White.  The edges of the white were inked with Sorbet.  I also used the multicoloured stamp technique so I would have all three theme colours on the sentiment.

To finish it off I stamped the word Laugh onto the bottom right just beneath the large photo circle and added the paper word border to the top and bottom of the flowered patterned paper.

Hope you enjoyed today’s project and are inspired to try the multicoloured stamping technique on something of your own.

Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

2 responses »

    • Thanks Florence. This calendar is definitely a labour of love. Wasn’t expecting it to be such a huge undertaking but it’s been fun. I’m always up for a paper challenge!

Leave a Reply

