Life Is A Journey Card

Standard

Happy Friday everyone!  I’m really excited to tell you that my Bless This Nest card won the My Time Made Easy sketch challenge #53!   Yeah.  Playing along with sketch challenges has been really fun and inspirational so today’s card is inspired by this week’s MTME’s Pretty Palette sketch challenge #54.

 

Pretty much anything goes with this one so I thought I’d make a masculine card using a new stamp set I received from Close To My Heart called A Journey.  It’s a small set which includes footprints, trees and the Life Is A Journey sentiment.  The other set I used was Enjoy Life.

As you can see it’s fairly straight forward.  I distressed the edges of the card because I wanted a more vintage look and, let’s face it, we all get a bit battered up as we go through life!

The trees were stamped in 1st and 2nd generation to get that layered look and then the bicycle guy was stamped in Chocolate ink in the foreground.  I was looking for a masculine ribbon to go at the top but didn’t have anything wide enough so I thought I’d try stamping this piece of white scrap ribbon I had lying around.  The ink of the footprints spread a bit after I stamped them so they are a bit blurry but at least you can still tell what they are!

I added the wooden button and hemp twine as an accent and then stamped the sentiment with Garden Green and Chocolate using the rock n roll technique.

Inside the card, I did a grouping using some stamps from the Enjoy Life set, which I thought fit the theme.  Here I had to do a bit of masking to make it work and I also used the rock n roll technique again with the green and brown ink.

This card was a lot of fun because it relied heavily on stamping.  Most of the prep was in the layout.  No second chances when everything is stamped right on the card!

Hope you enjoyed it and feel inspired to try some of these techniques on your own.  Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

One response »

Leave a Reply

