You’re A Star!

Standard

Hello friends!  I hope everyone enjoyed their Easter weekend and received lots of treats!  Today I made a birthday card for my nephew, who is turning 13.  Hmmm… what to make.  He’s too old for cutesy stuff but still young enough for a bit of fun.  He’s really into hockey and football so I wanted to try something along those lines but I don’t own any sports stamps.  So I decided to use stars.

The papers are from the CTMH Victory paper pack.  The plaid screams boy don’t you think?  I love it.  After cutting out the plaid rectangle I inked the edges with Desert Sand.  The star border was added about 1.5″ up from the bottom and I popped a blue and green layered star on top.  The little wooden button was threaded with hemp string and glued to the star with Liquid Glass.  If you’re looking for a really strong adhesive that can also be used in other creative ways this stuff is great!  I also use it to hold my paper flowers  together.

The Outdoor Denim blue strip on the right hand side was stamped using white Memento ink and heat embossed with clear embossing powder (hard to see in the photo).  I just got my heat embossing gun at Christmas and haven’t used it that much.  Must do more embossing projects!  It looks so great.

The sentiment was stamped in Outdoor Denim ink onto a piece of Olive CS.  I inked and distressed the edges and then stamped the blue stars as a background using the second generation stamping technique.  In case you’re wondering the inside of the card says “…it’s your birthday!”.

So this one is being sent off to Florida.  Hopefully everything stays intact on it’s long voyage.  Have a great day and Happy Crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

4 responses »

  1. This is a great masculine card, and it’s making me think twice about perhaps investing in some star stamps/punches – tfs! I’m going to try out the Liquid Glass, too, because my Glossy Accents bottle is starting to piss me off – still half full, but keeps getting clogged.

    • Thanks CK! My Liquid Glass bottle gets clogged too but I find if I put the lid back on right away it really helps. I also keep a pin handy to declog! Even so it is a great product and I couldn’t live without it.

Leave a Reply

