Thinking Of You

Standard

Good day all. Yesterday, I found out an acquaintance of mine is going through a family trauma.  Her husband is going in for bypass surgery, quite unexpectedly, so I decided I wanted to make her a card to let her know they are in my thoughts through this tough time.  I will probably bake her some treats and slip in a coffee card to keep her fueled during the long wait through the operation.

The kraft, red and yellow colour combo was inspired from MTME’s Pretty Palette Sketch this week.  I chose the patterned paper and red CS from the Gina K Designs Red Carpet paper pack.  I really had fun making this card and stayed up waaaaaay too late last night!  But it was worth it because I love the results.

The daisies are from CTMH’s Enjoy Every Moment (hmmm… Freudian slip?) stamp set (retired).  They were stamped with Tuxedo Black Memento ink onto Gina K’s Pure Luxury Ivory 120lb CS (fab for colouring with Copics) and then coloured with… you guessed it, Copic markers!  Next I stamped the daisies onto the patterned paper and cut some of them out.  They were popped up with foam dimensionals to add a 3D look and to glam them up a bit I added the Bronze Glitz Glitter Gel to the centres.  I love the look.  It gives the daisies texture and sparkle.

These are the Copic colours I used.  Don’t ask me how long it took to stack the markers up like that.  The things I do to try and get a photo!

Anyway, last but not least, the sentiment banner.  I cut out the layers using the Art Philosophy Cricut Cartridge, stamped the sentiment in Desert Sand ink and mounted it using foam dimensionals.  The sentiment is from one of Gina K’s stamp sets.  I guess it was a Gina K kind of night last night!

I added the rhinestones (coloured with the Sepia Copic) and Kraft Color-Ready Border as a ribbon-style accent.  These borders are great because they have their own adhesive on the back and come in a whole whack of different patterns.

That’s all from me today folks.  I hope you are inspired to make something beautiful for someone you care about.  I now need to go make a strong cuppa to help me make it through the afternoon!  Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

4 responses »

  1. Lovely! I like the way that you popped up the flowers and put the gems on the kraft border. I am sure that your friend will appreciate your thoughts. Thanks for sharing it with us MTME pretty palette! :0)

  2. Gorgeous! I love the flowers and how you popped them up! Your friend will love and appreciate your kindness, I’m sure! Thanks for playing our Pretty Palette challenge!

  3. Gorgeous!!! Your stamp and coloring are simply Fabulous!! Love all the elements with your card! Thanks for sharing and joining us this week at Pretty Palette Challenge !

Leave a Reply

