Wishing You Well

Standard

Good day everyone.  I was sitting in my craft room the other night working on this card and I actually stopped and laughed at myself when I compared my desk to the thoughts swirling around in my brain.  Chaos!  I don’t know if this happens to anyone else but sometimes I get an idea in my head and it takes off on me.  My hands can’t keep up with my brain.  I try different things – some work, some don’t and in the process the pile of stuff on my desk gets bigger and bigger.  Next thing I know I’m swearing because I can’t find the scissors I JUST put down in front of me! LOL!

Anyway, here is the card that had me in such a state…

I had a few different sources of inspiration for this one.  First of all, my mother-in-law is involved with the United Church in her small town in Eastern Ontario.  She volunteers to visit people in old age homes, who don’t have family close by or need a friendly face.  She is also responsible for sending them ‘Get Well’ and ‘Sympathy’ cards.  When I learned of this I immediately volunteered to make the cards for her.  She was thrilled and yeah, I now have a cause for my craft!

The layout is inspired by a Makeover Monday challenge over at Paper Crafter’s Library and the floral theme was inspired by my crafty friend at ContadinaK.  She made a lovely card the other day chock full of flowers.  And who doesn’t like to get flowers, I ask?

I started off with the background paper from the CTMH Dotty For You paper pack.  It reminded me of a trellis and so naturally I needed to add flowers to the card.    The rolled roses were cut out using the Art Philosophy Cricut Cartridge and glued together using Liquid Glass.  The larger flower is from the Card Word Puzzle stamp set and was stamped onto four different papers.  I cut out the layers and curled them under slightly using a pencil.  I then added foam dimensionals to each layer to create some height.

Another thing I wanted to try and use was a doily.  I bought a pack of 30 a couple of months ago and haven’t used any yet.  They are all the rage right now so tada!  Finally.  I hate it when I buy something and it sits around not getting used.

I added the green scalloped circle to the middle to add a bit more colour and then created the sentiment banner using the same papers I used for the flowers.

So here it is.  My first card in a series of cards for my mother-in-law’s (and now my) mission.  I can only hope that these cards help to brighten someone’s day.  We all need a little sunshine in our lives.

Have a great inspirational day everyone and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

One response »

Leave a Reply

