Fine & Dandy

Standard

Hi friends!  I played along with Paper Crafter’s Library Make It Monday challenge and a very interesting and different card came about.  You can check out the original card inspiration here.  The masking technique was used to make white tag shapes on white card stock, which were then stamped with a sentiment.  Here’s how I did it, in case you want to try this yourself.

I first cut out a 4×4 piece of white card stock.  I then cut the various tag shapes out of scrap paper with the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.  You could easily do this with tag punches or tag dies instead but make sure you use sizes that fit your chosen sentiments.  Next I used my temporary glue runner to lightly stick the tags onto my 4×4 piece of card stock.  You don’t need a lot – only enough to lightly hold it in place.

I pulled coordinating ink colours from my background paper (Tulip, Lagoon, Garden Green and Sorbet) and using a foam applicator, I sponged ink onto the card stock in a circular motion.  I started on the tag and moved outward (you can help hold the tag in place with one hand while sponging with the other).  After all four colours were added, the edges of the 4×4 card stock were inked with Cocoa, which is the same colour I used for the card base.

To remove the tags, I heated the them with my heat tool to soften the glue and gently pulled them off.  There was a bit of glue residue left so I used my Rub & Remove Eraser to take it off – a very handy little thing when adhesive is showing where you don’t want it to!

So once the tags were removed I was left with these white tag shaped spaces in the middle of all the colours.  Really cool!  I used the Cocoa ink and stamped various congratulatory sentiments on the white tags and used a brown, fine-tipped marker to add the stitching around the edges.  The 4×4 layer was popped up using foam dimensionals onto the 4.5×4.5 patterned paper and then I adhered the whole thing to a 5×5 card base.

I think this would be worth trying with various other background techniques as well.  That’s all folks!  Hope you have a fine & dandy day.  Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

One response »

Leave a Reply

