One More Candle!

Standard

Hello crafty friends!  I was visiting my local Michael’s craft store on Friday and noticed they had their Cricut cartridges on sale.  Now, I have owned my Cricut machine for about 2.5 years and only own 2 cartridges – the Close To My Heart Art Philosophy cartridge, which you all know I love and use all the time, and the George Basic Shapes, which came with the machine.  However I saw one called Life’s A Party and I broke down and bought it.  It is fantastic and has a lot of great party themes I know I will use.  Which leads me to today’s card…

My husband’s birthday is coming up next weekend so I got busy making him a card.  The paper’s are from the CTMH Cruisin’ paper pack.  Very masculine!  The layout was inspired by MTME’s sketch challenge #57.

I had a chuckle when I saw the “What’s 1 more candle?” phrase.  My husband just mentioned that we could skip his birthday this year so naturally I had to add this as the sentiment!  I found an old birthday stamp set with a candle and used it for the background, stamping as many as I could fit!  The balloons were cut out, popped up and anchored with a black brad and grey embroidery floss.  I stamped the Happy Birthday on a strip of Juniper CS in Twilight ink and matted it with Twilight CS.

I’m sure he will enjoy his birthday despite his protestations.  At least I didn’t make him an ‘Over the hill’ card – yet! 😉  Have a great day and happy crafting!

 

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

6 responses »

  1. I like your whole card, but I am loving how you pulled off the left side (balloons, etc.). Fabulous take on the sketch!! Thanks so much for playing along with the MTME Pretty Patterns team and congrats on being the Fav!!! BTW, your cupcake posts look delicious!

  2. Pingback: Pretty Patterns Sketch #58 | My Time Made Easy™ LLC Blog

Leave a Reply

