Your Guiding Hand

Standard

Hello all!  We have been having some miserable weather here in Canada’s Capital Region (snow, freezing rain and rain) but it’s been great for crafting.  I actually got two cards done today!  I thought I’d share my dress shirt card with you today.  I have been seeing shirt type cards all over Pinterest for a while now and decided I would try my hand at one.  These  are great for a birthday or Father’s Day and are fairly quick and easy to make.

First I cut out the shirt collar and tie to fit my 5×6.5 inch card.  Since this is a really simple project I decided to add the details of a real dress shirt.  So I hauled out my sewing machine, dusted it off and added stitching to the collar.  I then found two small clear buttons, added white embroidery floss to the button holes and glued them to the collar for a button down look.

I glued the tie to the shirt and then popped up the collar with foam dimensionals.  At the last minute, I decided to add a tie clip, which I cut out of a piece of Grey Wool CS.  I stamped DAD on it and added a small rhinestone to finish it off.

So if you’re wondering why I called this post Your Guiding Hand, you just have to read the inside of the card.  I thought this was a lovely thing to say to someone as special as a Dad.

Have a wonderful day everyone and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

7 responses »

    • Hi Florence. Thankfully there is not a lot of stamping on this card. I’m not sure how I would have fared had there been lots of ink around. I am not a neat and tidy crafter so I really had to clean up my space before I started this one. Even so, I had to keep flicking glitter from yesterday’s card off of it! LOL. Thanks for your comments.

  1. I love these shirt cards! I used to make them with my students years ago! I love how you added the tie clip…very clever! Thanks for playing our Pretty Palette challenge!

  2. Tracy, I love the “real shirt” details! Perfectly done! The striped dotty for you paper made a great tie! Thanks for joining us again at MTME pretty palette! :0)

Leave a Reply

