Welcome!

Standard

Hi all!  On one of my Michaels excursions I found this cute star sign that had an unfinished wooden plaque hanging from it.  I loved it and wanted to try my hand at creating a welcome sign for my front porch and since this didn’t seem like too big an undertaking I decided to go for it!

Like I said the star was already distressed and all I needed to do was finish the wooden plaque beneath.  I’ve never really tried to do anything like this before so I made it up as I went.   Here are the supplies I used…

I started by cutting a piece of designer paper in a bright floral pattern that was the same size as the sign.  I then rubbed the Tim Holtz Antique Linen distress ink over it to tone it down a bit and add a weathered look.  I also added a dry brushed layer with a bit of white acrylic paint.  Around the edges of the sign I coloured it with the Marvy Mocha marker and smudged it in with my fingers.

My next step was to cut out the welcome letters with my Cricut.  I decided black would stand out the best and would be easily seen from a distance.  The letters were glued onto the sign with Mod Podge.  If you want to know ANYTHING about Mod Podge check out the Mod Podge Rocks blog.  I never knew there were so many different kinds of Mod Podge!

I wanted to add a little bit of sparkle to match the star so when my first Mod Podge layer was dry I dabbed gold acrylic paint over the surface.  The back of the sign was painted with brown acrylic paint and then I added a few more layers of Mod Podge.  I learned Mod Podge is not completely waterproof but pretty close so I thought this little sign might be ok outside on my partially covered front porch.

Once I get my flowers planted this season (hopefully this weekend if the weather cooperates) I’ll post another picture of the sign in my big planter of flowers so you can check out the finished effect.

Hope you enjoyed today’s project.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.  Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

One response »

Leave a Reply

