Up, Up & Away

Standard

I made this envelope (left) and card (right) a while ago but thought I’d share it because it uses a really cool product called My Originals Sweet Surprises Card Kit.  The kit comes with everything you need to make 10 cards (except the treats) and allows you to whip up beautiful cards in no time.  I’ve used it several times for birthdays with great reactions.  Everyone likes getting a sweet treat and it’s really fun when you get it in your birthday card.

I decided to make a customized boy version of the Sweet Surprises card by using the Super Powers stamp set and the Superhero paper pack.  I first sprayed the blank kraft card and envelope with Spray Pens and Tulip and White Daisy re-inkers to get that splotchy paint look (for some reason this reminds me of the old Spiderman cartoons from the 60’s).  The cityscape was stamped with Outdoor Denim ink onto the card along with the sentiment.  I also stamped a few different stars over the envelope and inside the card to finish off the spacey background.  The ribbon and a scalloped flap hold the card shut, so you have to undo the ribbon to get the card open, but once inside this is what you see…

The spaceship on the front of the card and the superhero were stamped onto white card stock and coloured in with Copic markers.  The stripes on the ribbon were also done with Copics.  I emulated the moon by putting yellow jelly beans in the treat cup and sticking it onto the inside of the card.  These cups contain their own adhesive strip around the rim so all you have to do is peel and stick.  Wouldn’t this be cute as part of a snowman on a Christmas card if you used white candies?  Oh, the possibilities!

The sentiment stars on the inside of the card and on the front of the envelope were cut out using my Cricut Art Philosophy Cartridge.  I also made a sleeve for the envelope with this cute comic inspired designer paper.  Remember watching Batman and seeing all those Kerpows and Whams flash up on the screen?  Ah, the memories!

Hopefully this project brought back some childhood memories of your own and inspire you to try something a little different.  Have a fantastic day.  Happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

One response »

Leave a Reply

