What a Beeautiful Day!

Standard

Hi friends.  Hope you had a great weekend and are enjoying some lovely summer weather wherever you are!  Today I am sharing a card I made last night which contains hexagons.  If you read Paper Crafts Magazine like I do then you know that hexagons are all the rage right now.

I actually had to pull out my CTMH Wicked Halloween stamp set for the hexagons!  I stamped a strip of them right across the front of the card in Goldrush ink.  This was pretty risky for me since I’m a pretty messy crafter and usually end up smudging the ink or stamping it slightly off kilter.  But thankfully it worked out good enough!! (Don’t look too closely LOL!).

Last month CTMH’s stamp of the month set had all these lovely sunflower images so I set about stamping and colouring one of them for this card.  I used Cocoa ink for the stamped image and then coloured it in using a blender pen and Creme Brulee, Sunflower and Goldrush inks.  The centre was coloured with Chocolate and Desert Sand.  I also added a bit of gold glitter gel pen to the darker yellow areas near the centre which is hard to see in the photo.

The little bee is from one of the CTMH Petite Perks sets and ties in the flower, sentiment and hexagons nicely.  The sentiment is from Trees & Things but I ended up masking part of it and dropping in ‘bee’ using letters from the Classmate Alphabet.  I framed it in Cocoa card stock and popped it up on the card.  The sunflower was also cut out and popped up over the hexagon strip.

That’s it for today.  Off to enjoy the hot outdoors with a cold cup of iced tea.  See you next time.  Happy crafting everyone!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

5 responses »

  1. Hi Tracy:
    I love the hexagons They make it look like a honeycomb. Perfect with the bee and sunflower. Way to go.

  2. Love this summery card with the hexagons and fab sentiment x
    Thanks for the lovely comment you left on my blog x
    ((hugs)) Suzie xoxo

Leave a Reply

