Seed of Friendship

Standard

Good day to you!  The other day I was checking out a sneak peak for Papertrey Ink and was inspired to create this friendship card.  The PI card had a clear window in the centre with a square piece of stamped card stock stuck in the middle of it so it looked like it was floating.  That got me to thinking about trying to create a window with a heat embossed image on it.  So I tried it and it worked!

Wow!  I thought the results would be some serious melting and maybe a fire but I am so thrilled with the outcome!  I will definitely be trying other cards and things using this technique.  Anyway, down to business…

I cut the card shape with the fancy tag cutout in the middle using my Cricut and the CTMH Art Philosophy Cartridge.  The paper is from the Pemberley Paper Pack.

Next I took an 8.5×11 transparency sheet (remember those old overhead projectors?) and cut it down to a size slightly bigger than my window cutout.  Using one of the frames and silhouettes from the Sweet Moments stamp set I stamped the image onto the transparency with Versamark, being careful not to smudge it.  As you can see in the photo I did not push hard enough on the bottom of the stamp so the ink didn’t transfer totally – oops!  Nevertheless, I went ahead and covered it with black embossing powder and heated it using my heat tool.  This worked great.  The plastic didn’t even curl or pucker like I thought it might.

I taped the the image to the inside of the card using double sided tape.  I also glued a piece of Vanilla Cream card stock to the inside back of the card.  This helps show off the image a bit better than the pattern that was on the back side of the DP I used for the card.  I cut out a black frame and glued it on around the window and stuck a few prefab flowers up in the corner.  This signifies the bouquet mentioned in the sentiment, which leads me to the last step.  I cut out a tag with the Cricut and stamped the sentiment using Indian Corn Blue ink.  The edges were also inked with the same Indian Corn Blue as well as Creme Brulee.  I popped it up using foam tape and added the cream ribbon.

Voila!  I love it and I hope you do too!  Happy day and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Tracy. Lovely card. You used to be able to buy transparencies which went through the photocopier so I think they could cope with the heat. I am no expert. Some can melt. Been there and got the tshirt! LOL!
    Regards Florence xx

    • LOL! I am chuckling just picturing your face as your project is melting in front of your eyes. I actually had a glass of water beside me in case I had that experience! Pure genius at work in the craft room!!

Leave a Reply

