You Are Positively Cool!

Standard

Wowee, it’s a hot one today; 32 degrees C but feels like 42 with the humidity!  A great day to stay indoors and make stuff!  This weekend my son has a birthday party to go to so I went ahead and made a masculine card for the occasion.

The colours were inspired by the My Time Made Easy Pretty Palette Challenge this week – ivory, light blue, rust and mustard.  Great boy colours!

I used my CTMH You Are… stamp set which has a lot of masculine looking stamps to choose from.  I started off by stamping blue stripes onto a piece of ivory card stock for the background and then thought it would look cool to have the reverse at the bottom of the card.  This really reminds me of wainscoting you might find in a boys room.  I achieved the white stripes by scoring the blue card stock every 1/8 inch and then sanding the embossed lines with sand paper.  CTMH card stock has a white core so it is great for distressing.

I used the rust coloured card stock as a matte for the entire card as well as an accent strip across the middle.  A sunrise pattern was stamped across the top using Goldrush ink.  The mustard yellow accent strip was stamped with Sunflower ink.  I cut out the stars using my Cricut and Art Philosophy cartridge.

The sentiment sign was stamped, cut out, assembled and popped up using dimensional foam.  I also added the yellow star brad to the centre of the largest star.  That’s it!  One more thing checked off the list – yay!  Have a great day and stay cool!

 

5 responses »

  1. Tracy, I like the way that you did the reverse on the bottom and the lay-out is great! Super boy card; they are a challenge for me….thanks for joining us at MTME pretty palette!

Leave a Reply

