Dreams Mini Album

Standard

Happy Friday everyone!  A great big THANK YOU to My Time Made Easy for choosing my Dotty Happy Birthday card as the challenge winner over on their blog this week!  Yeah!  Incidentally I also entered it into the Out of a Hat Challenge last week which leads me to today’s creation.  This week’s challenge is to make a mini album no larger than 3×3.  Well ladies, I just realized my mini album is 3.5×2.5 so I hope you’ll overlook that little blunder!

The front and back cover are actually playing cards.  We always seem to have incomplete decks of cards lying around from the kids so I took two cards and covered them with designer paper from the CTMH Florentine paper pack.  I stamped a few images and distressed the edges with Desert Sand ink, added a pearl brad and some ribbon to tie it closed.

The inside pages are made up of two strips of Bamboo card stock which were cut to 12×3 inches and scored at 2 1/4 inch intervals.  I glued two of the ends together to make one long piece of paper and then accordion folded it on the score lines.  The adjacent backs of the folds were glued together to form the pages of the book.  There were some left over tabs on each end which I used to glue the pages to the cover of the album.

The pages of the book were a blank canvas so I pulled out all my stamps and went to work trying to create a distressed, shabby look.  As I was stamping the backgrounds I got the idea to make this a little album of affirmations – just a little something for the reader to ponder!

This was really fun and therapeutic.  I got to use quite a few stamp sets and blend them all together.

The shades of ink used throughout the book complement the Florentine paper; Bamboo, Desert Sand, Twilight, Creme Brulee,  Sunset, Garden Green, Chocolate and Cocoa.

So that is my attempt at a mini album.  It’s a great way to use some of those stamps you haven’t gotten around to using yet!  Next time I think I would take it a step further and add some flowers and embellishments.  Have a great weekend and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

19 responses »

  1. Tracy! this is simply gorgeous, beautifully stamped and made. You are definately forgiven for the few millimeters! Really enjoyed reading how your made this. Congrats on your winning entry in the other challenge last week. Thank you for sharing with the Hatters this week. Have a great weekend.
    Regards Florence xx
    p.s. lovely photos

  2. This is amazing Tracy and you are certainly forgiven for the little bit extra on the height as it is less wide which made up for it.:)

    Just love all the stamoping and the wonderful colours you used.

    Great to have you join us and share this wonderful little book with Out of a Hat.

    Love Chrissie xxxx

  3. OH I love this little book it’s just gorgeous………………..As I haven’t got that many stamps this make me wish I had more 🙂 x Max x

  4. Hi Tracy, Oh what a lovely little book what’s in a .5 anyway lol. Love how you have done this and the stamping, colours. Thanks for sharing with us at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra XXX

  5. What a great project, Tracy! I love how you used a variety of stamps (do i spy Universal Backgounds in there?), the affirmation theme, and how you “upcycled” old playing cards–have to “pin” that idea.

    • Hi Caroline. You do spy Universal Backgrounds – good eye! I think I used about 8 different stamp sets on this one. It was fun to mix them all up. Thanks for your great comments!

Leave a Reply

