Postcard Challenge

Standard

Hi all!  It’s been a while since I last posted due to vacation time but I’m back and ready to share my newest creations which I made for the Out of a Hat Challenge this week.  The theme is travel postcards.

I wasn’t sure about the destination on my first attempt but liked the “Adventure is a state of mind” stamp so I came up with this postcard…

I started with a 4×6 piece of Gina K Designs 120 lb base weight white card stock and did a colour wash with Copic markers.  Starting at the top I did a few lines of each colour and just blended them into each other until I liked the way it looked.  I then stamped the images on top.  The tree signifies home (roots) with the funky treetop being a persons everyday busy life.  The butterflies signify being able to leave the everyday and seek out adventure, whether mental or physical.

On my next attempt I decided to go with a more typical postcard theme but stuck with the Copic colour washing technique for the background.  This time I wanted to get a sunset at the beach look and chose my colours accordingly.  For the sand I used Copics first and then stippled on a bit of Desert Sand ink with a stencil brush to get a grainy look (a bit difficult to see here).  The stamped images are from CTMH’s Just Chillin’ and Footloose Workshop Stamp Sets.

Here is another beach postcard using the same Copic technique.  I was really having fun with this!

And finally I did an under the sea scene.  Again the Copic wash in blues.  Here the little fish and sea horse are enjoying a swim together.

If you want to check out some of the other postcards or play along please click on the Hatters link at the top for info and inspiration.  Hope you’re having a great week.  Stay cool and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

11 responses »

  1. Hi Tracy, What a fantastic set of postcards you have made. I love that copic colour wash technique and your stamping is great. Thanks for joining in with us at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra XXX

  2. Hi Tracy, Wow! As Chrissie has said “you have done us proud”. These are ALL fantastic. Love the copic colour wash technique and the stippled sand. Fabulous stamping. Really enjoyed reading your thoughts which inspired the first postard. I wouldn’t be able to choose a favourite between them. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters and joining in the fun. Have a great weekend.
    Regards Florence xx

    • Hi Florence. I really loved how you did your backgrounds on your postcards and immediately thought about using the Copic wash on mine. So thanks for the inspiration! Can’t wait to see what you pull out of the hat next week!

Leave a Reply

