Heart & Home

Standard

 

 

Hello everyone.  I hope you are enjoying your weekend, and have been able to watch some of Olympic Games so far.  A big congrats to the UK for a dynamite opening ceremony!  Bravo!  Lots of eye candy and great music.

So I have been squeezing in some crafting time between Olympic events, and family outings, and managed to get my Out of a Hat Challenge card made.  When I saw that this week’s challenge was sewing I immediately thought about trying a card with a quilting type background.  Here is what I came up with…

I used the CTMH Pemberley paper pack for this.  The colours and patterns are so pretty that it made it really easy to piece together a background.  I first cut the card out with the CTMH Artiste Cricut Cartridge.  It’s just a 5.5×5.5 card with rounded corners.  Next I cut strips of DP 5/8 x 2.5 inches (4 of each pattern), and glued them onto the card so they made up four 2.5×2.5 inch squares.

My focal image was stamped onto a piece of Bamboo card stock.  I used the CTMH Chairs To You stamp set (retired), and coloured it with a blending pen, and some coordinating CTMH inks.  I added a few pearls to the flowers, and then rounded the corners with my corner rounder to match the corners of the card.

So the only thing left to do at this point was add the sewing element.  I managed this by doing a zigzag stitch with my sewing machine around the focal image, and the outside of the card.  Don’t look too closely at the corners LOL!  Not sure what happened there!  I do love the overall effect though, and I just might have to try this again sometime using a different pattern.  A quilted Christmas card would probably be lovely.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks for stopping by.  Go Canada Go!!

 

 

 

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

12 responses »

  1. Fantastic card and so much beautiful sewing on it. Love the patchwork effect for sure and a Christmas card would be great idea using this technique.

    Thank you for the compliments about the opening ceremony-we never se to be as roud as we should be in England. I have watched a lot of the sport already and so much more to look forward too.

    Thank you for joining in with us at Out of a Hat this week and your photograph with the flowers is fantastic

    Love Chrissie xxxx

    L

    • Hi Chrissie! I love watching all the Olympic sports too. A great way to pass the time in the summer. And I can do it while I’m crafting LOL! Thanks for your kind comments.

  2. Hi Tracy, Gorgeous patchwork card, what a neat idea, love the colours as well. Thanks for joining in with us at Out of A Hat. We all enjoyed the openning ceremony over here got great reviews in our papers. Go team GB and Canada :). Hugs Sandra XXX

    • Hi Sandra. Thanks for your kind words. I really enjoyed putting this card together for the challenge. Good luck to team GB. They have a lot of pressure on them this time around.

  3. Hi Tracy. Gorgeous card. Love the design and the stitching. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week. We stayed up to watch the opening ceremony and thought it was fantastic. It was how the large flame came together at the end that got me. The design of that was amazing. Good luck to Canada. Have a wonderful day.
    Regards Florence x

  4. Hello Tracy,

    Beautiful card. The background looks like a quilt. I like the bleus and creams of that designpaper.

    Greetings,
    Inge

  5. Wow – amazing quilting (I’d call it patchwork in the UK – is that the same thing?!)… I love stitching on cards (though I can’t sew for toffee), and the papers are delightful!
    Alison x

    • Hi Alison. I believe patchwork and quilting are the same thing. I looked up a beginner design on the internet and took it from there. I really like the results and will definitely try this again. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

