Back 2 School

Standard

Hi everyone.  This week’s Out of a Hat Creations blog is hosting a challenge featuring packages.  I decided to use the Carry It box template from My Time Made Easy.  They have so many really great 3D packages to choose from so if you’re looking for some really pretty packaging ideas check out their online store.The Pretty Palette challenge over at MTME this week is Saffron, Red and Chocolate, so I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone, and use those colours on my little package.  They also remind me of fall, so I decided to go with a back to school theme.

I imported the Carry It template into my Sure Cuts A Lot 2 computer program, and then used my Cricut to cut it out.  After assembling the box I got to work decorating it.  The obvious choice for this house shaped box would have been a school house, but I wanted to play around with my stamps, and paper so I went for a more abstract look.

I used a variety of stamp sets from Close To My Heart and ended up mixing and matching them.  They include School Rocks and the Scholastic Workshop Stamp Set from the Scholastic Workshops On The Go Kit.  The little bells on the top flap are actually Christmas decorations but they remind me of an old schoolhouse bell, so I have given them a new home!

I used CTMH papers and inks in shades of red, brown and yellow.  The patterned papers are also from CTMH with the exception of the cute pencil paper (top picture), which is from a Me & My Big Ideas book.

Here you can see the box when it is open.  The overlay with the bells comes off and then the handle slips through a slit in the top flap to reveal the goodies inside.  The finished size is 3″x3.5″ (not including the peak), so you could easily fit a cupcake or an apple for the teacher inside.

I must now run off and catch the Olympic closing ceremonies.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend and happy crafting!

 

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

15 responses »

  1. Hi Tracy. Wonderful back to school box. Beautifully designed. I am not techno minded so I am not sure how you “imported the template” but it sounds fascinating what you can do. My favourite piece of the decorating is the stamped children in yellow. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week. Enjoy the closing Ceremony.
    Regards Florence xx

    • Hi Florence. I am able to hook my computer up to my Cricut machine via a printer cable. My box template is digital so I was able to open it in a computer program (Sure Cuts A Lot) and cut it with my Cricut. I guess I failed to mention that! I always assume everyone knows what I’m talking about LOL! Thanks for you kind words.

  2. Wow Tracy this box is amazing and just love how you have decorated it. Thanks for joning in with us again at Out of a Hat this week we love to see what you make.

    Enjoy the ceremony–we will be watching it as well.

    Love Chrissie xxxxx

  3. Hi Tracy, A fantastic back to school box and beautifully made, love that stamped children image. .. Thanks for joining in with us at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra X

  4. What a great project Tracy! I just love this and the colors look fabulous on it! Even though this reminds me that back to school is near (I’m a teacher!) I still love it! Thanks for playing our Pretty Palette challenge!

    • Thanks Alice. I really love making 3D projects but don’t do it as often as I would like because of the time involved. I am always awed by 3D paper crafts and the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

