Digi Cards

Standard

Happy beginning of the week!  I was on the Hero Arts website over the weekend checking out their digital stuff and ended up buying and downloading a few really cute digital stamp sets, which I am using to play along with their August sketch challenge.  If you are interested in entering the August contest for a chance to win some loot click the link for more info.

My first card uses digital images from A Natural Love and TweetHeart Digikits.  These kits are kind of cool because they come not only with stamps, but matching paper and embellishments as well.  (Keep in mind they are all digital).

So to start off, I started up my photo editing software (Gimp) and opened a cream coloured paper as the background.  I then added the beautiful heart tree image on top.  I had to size the tree to fit the card and then printed it out.  I scalloped the bottom edge with my corner rounder, and then added the ribbon and sentiment flag.  I also cut out my little bird and glued it onto the flag.  Isn’t he cute?  I decided at the end to add the gems as a bit of eye candy.

My second card uses the Cardart Thanks digital kit.  Again, everything was opened in Gimp and resized, then printed out onto card stock.  I cut out the thanks tag and popped it up over the flower image with foam tape.  The embellishments are digital flowers I printed, cut and sparkled up with a glitter gel pen.  The edges were curled up with my fingers to add a bit of dimension.  I also added pearls, which I coloured with a pink Copic marker.

My experimentation in the digital world has been fun and challenging and really opens up a world of possibilities, but nothing beats getting your hands inky!  I think during this process my stamps and inks were glaring at me – or maybe I just have a guilty conscience!

Have a great day and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

Leave a Reply

