Making Do With What You Have

Standard

Hello everyone.  I’ve been away visiting my brother for the last week (coming home today) and started having craft withdrawals a couple of days ago.  I’ve been itching to get my fingers inky but there are no crafting supplies here, other than the type which accompany young children to school – coloured pencils, Crayola markers, and children’s scissors.  Yikes!  I did make one trip to the local craft store, and ended up buying some adhesive, a small packet of embellishments and a K&Co paper pack which was on sale for $5.oo.  So here is what I managed to make without my regular stash…

I wanted to play along with the My Time Made Easy Pretty Palette Challenge so I used white, navy, light blue and kraft on all my cards.  And since I had no stamps or inks with me I decided to use some of their digital stamps as well.  This first card uses the Water and Waverly Wiggles digital stamp set.  I printed out the sentiment and octopus, and coloured the octopus in with a couple of blue coloured pencils.  The rest of the card was made with paper from the K & Co bargain book.

For my second card, I just cut strips of paper from the K&Co book, and made them into flags, which I then glued across a piece of kraft card stock.  This was harder than it looks because I had no paper trimmer with me.  All my straight edges were done freehand with children’s scissors (so don’t look too closely).  Oh, how I miss my cutting tools!

I added another strip of paper across the middle to hide the ends of the flags and then added the embellishments.  My little butterfly is from a Hero Arts digital stamp set that I had on my computer.  I printed, cut and coloured him with those same blue coloured pencils that I used on the octupus.  The Thanks circle was a die cut embellishment I found on my outing to the craft store.

And last but not least, I made this little gem with the MTME Be Dazzled digital stamp set.  The background paper is also from their Cool Romance digital paper pack.  I coloured the flower tag on my computer using Gimp software.  For those of you who may want to try their hand at digital paper crafting, I suggest trying Gimp.  It’s a photo editing software that is similar to Photoshop, but it’s free so you have nothing to lose by trying it.

I wanted to add some dimension to this card so I printed out three copies of the tag and cut the flowers out in layers.  I curled the ends up with my fingers and glued them on top of each other.  I then added the embellishments.  The kraft coloured swirls were cut out of one of the designer papers from the K & Co book.  I also wanted to disguise my not-so-straight straight edges so I distressed them with my kid scissors.

Well, I have to say I really miss my paper crafting tools, but I was still able to enjoy card making thanks to a few inexpensive supplies, a printer and my computer.  Have a happy Monday everyone!

 

 

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

12 responses »

  1. Tracy, impressive without all your crafty stuff! All of them are lovely! I like the layering of the flowers, it gives such nice dimension. Thank for sharing it with us at MTME pretty palette!

Leave a Reply

