Learning To Fly

Standard

Hi folks.  I finally was able to sit down last night and this morning and finish my mouse trap alteration for the Out of a Hat Challenge this week.  If you would like to check out the other entries or play along click on the link to find out more.  I am also entering this one into the Tando Creative Challenge Blog August Challenge.After disassembling the trap I glued some neutral coloured pattern paper to the base using Modpodge.  I then coated the top with Modpodge and sprinkled some Martha Stewart clear glitter over the entire surface.  As that was drying, I decided I would decorate it using the Tando Kit that I had won from the Hatters about a month ago.  So I got busy colouring, stamping, distressing and glittering up those pieces.

The hot air balloons were sponged with a few layers of ink and then stamped with Outdoor Denim ink using the CTMH Live Inspired stamp set (retired).  I love the idea of hot air balloons floating around the clouds with the words Journey and Dream written on the side!  I glammed them up a bit with some pearls and a glitter gel pen, and then glued them to the reassembled trap.I blotted some silver Ditto Glimmer Spray onto the banner with a paper towel (the spray nozel wasn’t working for some reason) and distressed the edges with Old Linen Distress Ink.  I then stamped ‘Learn to’ onto the flags, and added the little pearls to the bottom of each one.  The compass, Fly and grass chipboard pieces were coloured with markers and glued to the trap.  I also coloured over the Fly with a glitter pen to add more sparkle to the bottom area of the trap.

Wow, that wasn’t as hard as I imagined it would be.  The Tando kit certainly made my job that much easier and gave me a theme to focus on.  Hope you enjoyed today’s whimsical project.  Have a lovely evening and happy crafting!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

12 responses »

  1. Just amazing Tracy and so pleased that you used some of the Tando prize as well–no wonder Janet is over the moon. Thank you for joining us in the challenge at Out of a Hat Creations and for fitting us into your very busy week.

    Love Chrissie xx

  2. Wow! Brilliant altered mouse trap Tracy. Love how you have used the Tando pieces. Very clever. Thank you so much for joining the Hatters this week and sharing your ideas. Can’t wait to see what you come up with next week.
    Regards Florence x

    • Hi Florence. This was a really fun challenge. I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to come up with something I liked but it turned out to be really enjoyable. Looking forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

