Jack O’ Lantern

Standard

It rained buckets here yesterday which gave me the perfect opportunity to work on my Out of a Hat Creations project.  This week’s challenge is to create something using packaging.  I ended up using part of an old fragrance diffuser box and then took it one step further and used an ugly, old light fixture I found lying around in storage. (Don’t mind my messy desk!)As soon as I saw the light fixture I wanted to make a pumpkin out of it.  It’s already kind of yellowy-orange and the perfect shape.  So I went to my local craft store and picked up some glass paint, which just happened to be on sale for $1.29.  I think this project was meant to be!The little paint kit came with 8 different colours of paint and some liquid lead, which is supposed to simulate the lead between coloured glass in a stained glass window.  I opened it up and got busy drawing a jack o’lantern onto my glass globe.  You’ll notice I turned the globe upside down so that the opening is at the top instead of the bottom.  This is so I can put a candle inside it.  Once the lead was dry, I painted it with orange and black glass paint.  I also ended up spray painting the gold base black and removing the lightbulb socket.I hot glue gunned the lamp base to the old box bottom and then started gluing fake leaves and berries onto the box.  When that was complete, I tied a Halloween ribbon and bow around the top of the lamp base and then sat my Jack O’Lantern on top.  Finally I tied some raffia around the opening rim of my pumpkin and glued more leaves and berries to it.

And here is my recycled creation all lit up…

So I now have a Halloween centerpiece for my dining table.  The kids love it and I hope you do to!  Have a great week and I’ll see you soon!  Thanks for looking.

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

19 responses »

  1. Whose clever then!! Tracy, I always look forward to seeing what you come up with for the challenge. This is brilliant!! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful inspiring creation with the Hatters this week. Really love it. Have a great week.
    Regards Florence xx

  2. Wow! This looks amazing Tracy. Can’t imagine how you thought to make the old lamp and box into something this special but I am so pleased that you did and shared it with us at the Hatters the week. Always great to have you join us.

    Lotsa Luv Chrissie xxx

  3. Awesome pumpkin Tracy, you are so inventive. I am very impressed. Thanks for joining in with Out of A Hat. hugs Sandra XXX

  4. I can’t stop looking at this – what a fantastic project you have made. Can just imagine this gracing your table and your window at Halloween. You should market these they are fab.
    Hugs, Neet xx

  5. Wow Tracy – I couldint think where on earth you were going with the lamp and packaging, but my goodness it is totally fantastic! Fabulous imagination – ((((round of applause!!)))) Cxxxx

Leave a Reply

