Oriental Influences

Standard

Good Sunday afternoon!  First off, I’d like to announce that I’ve been selected as the Top Chick of the Top Ten over at the Heart 2 Heart Challenge Blog for the month of August!  This means I get to be a guest designer for the month of October!  Woohoo!  I’m very excited about this and can’t wait to get started.  Should be a fun October.

Speaking of fun, the Out of a Hat gals are hosting an Oriental Influences challenge this week.  They have some really great projects showcased on their site so check it out if you have a few moments. It’s been a busy weekend but I managed to squeeze in some cardmaking time to come up with this…

I ended up using the So Fortunate digital stamp set from My Time Made Easy.  It has some really nice oriental images including this cherry blossom branch, as well as, the symbols for love, happiness and good fortune – perfect for my card!I printed 2 sets of the cherry blossoms out and coloured them in with Copic markers.  I then painstakingly cut out the whole branch from one copy and just the flowers from the second copy.  I curled up the petals of the flowers and glued them to the branch image to get a dimensional look.  A gem was added to the centre of each blossom for a bit of sparkle.I printed the Oriental characters onto a piece of red card stock, and glued the cherry blossom branch beside it.  And what would this card be without a touch of gold?  I would have loved to add some gold embossing but don’t own any gold embossing powder yet (it’s on my list of things to get, as Christmas is right around the corner), so I added the gold ribbon to the bottom instead.

That’s it from me today.  Have a great week and I’ll be back soon with another creation of some sort.  Until then happy crafting!

14 responses »

  1. Wow! You cut out those branches….yowser! Nice work on the card and a big congratulations on being the guest Designer for October. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with (as always). I’m also impressed that you squeezed in crafting time on a busy weekend. Now that’s dedication!!!

    • Thanks Kim! There always seems to be time to squeeze in a little crafting. I usually just sneak away when everyone is busy doing something else. Either that or the housework doesn’t get done. LOL!

  2. Woo hoo, Tracy! That is awesome news – can’t wait to see you strut your stuff at Heart 2 Heart! Beautiful card – love how those colors always work so perfectly together. The gold ribbon is just the right touch.

  3. Beautiful card Tracy and very Oriental. Love the colours and the image. The chinese characters just finish the whole thing off.

    Great to have you join us again this week at Out of a Hat.

    Love Chrissie xxx

    • Hi Florence. October should be busy but fun with all the different things going on. Looking forward to the Hatters Christmas challenges. I already have a few things in mind. Hope you’re having a great week!

  4. Hi Tracy,Beautiful oriental card,love the chinese characters,let you into a secret,I have my name in chinese at the top of my arm (my brother in law is chinese) even in restaurants waiters have called me Janet.Thanks for joining us at Out of a Hat
    Janet x

  5. I love this Oriental card – The cherry blossom is gorgeous, it must have taken you ages to cut the branch out then the flowers and the Chinese characters just make this card perfect. Red is for good luck, so good luck with your Heart 2 Heart guest designer spot in October!!

Leave a Reply

