A Slanted View

Standard

Hi folks. It’s the weekend and doing nothing but raining here.  Great day for crafting if my kids will let me! LOL.  I managed to finish 2 cards for the Heart 2 Heart challenge, which features this sketch…The first card is a Christmas card I made using some CTMH paper from last year’s Christmas collection, along with a bit of Dotty For You paper.I cut out the Hohoho with the Artiste Cricut Cartridge and glued it, along with a few holly leaves, onto a 3 layer matte, which I then popped up using dimensional foam.  I added the green bow and red button to give this focal image a bit more weight.  The holiday treat snowflake was stamped in red and green, then cut out and pieced together.  I added the blue gems to give it sparkle.  It’s hard to see in the photo, but the red plaid paper actually has a blue stripe running through it, hence the blue accents.My Halloween card uses the Moonlight paper pack and Workshop On The Go stamp set (thanks Kim!).  For the main focal image, I started off by sponging and blending ink onto a piece of card stock.  I then embossed the lamp post and fence/owl image on.  I wish I could say I had the foresight to mask the lamp top, but I ended up piecing it on so I could colour it in with Copics to get that lampy glow.  Lastly, I stamped on the bats and coloured the owl’s eyes with a white marker.

The “Who’s Afraid?” flower was cut out using the Artiste cartridge and pieced together.  I then glued it to a piece of Halloween ribbon that I got off a bag of candy corn.  And last but not least, the beautiful, black lacey felt sticker underneath everything, is from a Halloween kit I picked up last year.

That’s it from me.  I have to go off and start on my Hatters Halloween challenge project, so stay tuned for that.  Have a great weekend everyone!

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

8 responses »

  1. Great work. That Xmas card is beautiful! I like that “Ho Ho Ho” and I’m excited to read that my Cricut cartridge will cut that out. Ya! Also, your embossing of the owl/fence/lightpost really adds to the creepy Halloween feel. Love it!

  2. THese are both fantastic! I think the spooky one is my fave, with the spiderweb, and ominous inked panel for the owl. So glad you’re joining us for October!

Leave a Reply

