Halloween Diorama

Standard

Hi crafty friends.  Well, I worked hard all weekend to finish my Out of a Hat creation and I gotta say I’m pretty pleased with the way this turned out.  But before I get ahead of myself, the challenge this week is to create a Halloween project of your choosing.  For some fantastic inspiration, check out what the ladies have done over there by clicking the link above.

Okay, so I was looking around Pinterest for some ideas, because I’ve already made a few Halloween cards and a Jack O’Lantern lamp, and I wanted to do something else.  I found this spectacular diorama made by the Crafty Gentleman and decided to try my hand at one.  You can see the inspiration piece by clicking here.

For my diorama, I started out with an empty cocoa can…The first thing I did was peel the label off the can and cut a big hole in the front of it.  I then dug out a bunch of Halloween papers, stamps and ribbon and got busy.  Eventually I came up with this…Oh, what fun!  Most of the papers are from a We R Memory Keepers Halloween paper pack, but I embellished them with a few CTMH papers.The stamps are mostly Close To My Heart with a few We R Memory Keepers thrown in (pumpkin & witch).  I cut two hills from patterened card stock and stuck them in the can, slightly apart from each other, then started layering images to create my spoooooky scene.  I made sure to leave room behind the taller hill so I could fit a couple of battery operated tea lights behind it.I also used my CTMH Artiste Cricut cartridge quite a bit.  There are some fabulous Halloween images, such as the skeleton, cat, tombstones, and Eek! sign.Here is a picture of the diorama with the lid off.  As you can see, I used a lot of ribbon to decorate it and hide the ugly, red plastic.  A removeable lid is really handy for getting the tea lights in and out.  So that is my latest Halloween creation.  I hope you like it and are inspired to try one yourself.  I bet a Christmas one would be lovely.

Before I go, I also wanted to share a picture of our newest family member…Isn’t he cute?  We went to the pet store to get a couple of fish and came home with Owlet instead (so named because of his big owl-like eyes)!  LOL!  He will be well loved.

Have a great week everyone.  See you back here real soon.  Happy crafting!

19 responses »

  1. Wow – there are so many details in this project! What is possible with a canister! And you have a beautiful new furry baby! This is your first, yes? Kittens a re so much fun and ridiculously playful! Owlet will be a great addition to your family. Woo hoo to pet adoption!

  2. This is just amazing Tracy. So many terrific details all adding up to the perfect piece. Well done you and thank you for joining in at Out of a Hat Creations with it.

    Love Chrissie xxxxx

  3. Wow! this is brilliant and I keep looking at it and seeing the work involved, its outstanding! Love it and makes me want to go and do something like it. Well done you! Cx

  4. Hi Tracy,
    Love your Halloween tin,it will look great on the nite with the tea lights on,very spooky
    Thanks for joining us at Out of a Hat & the fabulous set of stamps you have given as a prize
    Janet x

  5. wow!!!!!! You should be pleased with this Tracy! Amazing project. It is just wonderful. Really love it. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week. Thank you also for very generously donating the prize. I will be in touch over the next couple of days with the winners name. Owlet is so adorable!
    Hugs,
    Florence x

Leave a Reply

