Falling For You

Standard

Happy Monday, and welcome to my first post as a guest design team member for the Heart 2 Heart Challenge blog!  I’m super excited!  Can you believe it’s October already?  Where did the summer go?  Before we know it we’ll be putting up Christmas decorations!  But before we go there, I want to celebrate fall a bit more by using the rolling technique on a fall card, which is the theme of this week’s challenge.I started this card by cutting it out with the CTMH Artiste Cricut cartridge.  I love the scalloped edge and the little holes down the side, which I threaded with chocolate baker’s twine.  I used this gorgeous B&T paper from the Flirty paper packet for the background, and matted it with the Flirty Raspberry paper that comes with the pack.  When I first saw this paper pack, I was not too keen on the colour combination, but I have to say it has really grown on me and is now one of my favourites.For the focal image, I stamped a tree base onto a piece of Colonial white card stock, using Chocolate ink and the swiping technique to get a bit of woody texture.  I then added the leaves to the tree using the rolling technique.  For those of you not familiar with the rolling technique, you can achieve it by inking up your stamp with one colour and then rolling the outside edges of it in another colour.  This is perfect for getting that multi-coloured look on fall leaves.  I also used it on the little circles I stamped down the side of the card.I cut the focal image into 3 even pieces and matted it onto a piece of Cocoa card stock.  I stamped the sentiment in the bottom right corner with Cocoa ink and added the pink gems to the middle of each circle down the side of the card.  I think my favourite thing about this card is the unexpected use of pink.  I would not generally think of it as a fall colour, but it somehow works, and gives this card a little bit of pizazz!

So hop on over to the Heart 2 Heart blog and check out some of the other amazing inspiration pieces over there.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day everyone!

CTMH Supplies:
Artiste Cricut Cartridge 
Flirty Paper Packet
Inks – Cocoa, Chocolate, Garden Green, Sunset, Sorbet
Chocolate Baker’s Twine
Stamps – Trees & Things, Dreamin Workshops On The Go C-size stamp set
 
5 responses »

  1. What a lovely card! The bling on the border is such a great touch! The tree is amazing and I love the twine you tied on the side as well! All kinds of great details on your card!

Leave a Reply

