Let It Snow

Standard

Hi everyone!  Busy times ahead with Christmas just around the corner.  Hard to believe the jolly fatman will be here in just 11 weeks!  Speaking of Christmas, it’s my 3rd week guest designing over at the Heart 2 Heart Challenge Blog and the theme is to make something Christmasy.  I opted for a card since you can never have too many of those!I finally bought some silver and gold embossing powder to use on Christmas cards, and decided to try the silver on the snowflakes.  Here I used the CTMH Snow Flurries stamp set on Lilac Mist card stock (both retired).I cut a 2 1/2 inch strip out of the middle my 5 x 6 1/2 inch card so I could insert a strip of transparency.  I then stamped and heat embossed the Let It Snow sentiment across the upper half.  The pigment inks and clear embossing powder work really well if you want a specific colour.Across the inside of the card under the transparency window, the winter scene was stamped using the pine trees from A Journey and the little horse & sleigh from Snow Days (retired).  I created depth by stamping a second row of trees above the first row, and stamped off on scrap paper before stamping onto the card, to get a lighter impression for a more distant look.I used a navy blue matte and gems for contrast, and added a silver string down the side, tied with a bow.  Hope you enjoyed looking at today’s card.  Please go and see what the other DT members have made by clicking here.  Thanks for stopping by!

CTMH Products:
Card Stock – Lilac Mist, Outdoor Denim
Inks – Outdoor Denim, Garden Green, Outdoor Denim Pigment Ink
Silver Embossing Powder
Stamp Sets – A Journey, Snow Flurries, Snow Days
21 responses »

    • Thanks Chrissie. I really love using the acetate and keep coming back to it. So many fun things to try with it! Hugs, Tracy

  1. This is very beautiful 😀 Thank you for such a clear description of how you created it, I have learnt some new tricks from this 🙂
    🙂

    • I’m so happy you were able to pick up some tricks! There are so many to learn and try and never enough time to do them all! Thanks for stopping by! Tracy:)

    • Thank you Carolyn! I’ve used acetate on a bunch of other projects and really love it. I have a box of 8.5×11 transparencies from Staples that I use. You can even run them through your inkjet printer although I would recommend using your heat tool to dry them before handling! Tracy:)

      • I’ve done it on velum, but hadn’t tried it on the transparencies – thanks for the GREAT hint! It really is a beautiful card!

    • Hi Vivian! So glad you like it. I do a lot of heat embossing on acetate. I use the Staples brand transparencies and they hold up pretty well to the heat. The first time I tried it I wasn’t sure how it would go so I actually had a glass of water near me in case of fire lol!

Leave a Reply

