Old Fashioned Christmas

Standard

Hi all!  Things have been kinda crazy busy around here lately, but I managed to squeeze in some crafting time (of course), and finish my Christmas packaging for the Out of a Hat challenge this week.  My husband and I are big tea drinkers and have accumulated a bunch of tea tins over the last while.  I thought this would make a great package for some homemade goodies, such as cookies or peanut brittle, mmmmmm!The inspiration came from the Gina K Designs brown gingham designer paper I used to cover the tin.  The colour reminds me of gingerbread, and nothing says Christmas like Grandma’s gingerbread cookies!  After adhering the paper, I distressed it with a bit of Old Linen DI.  I then added the kraft border around the bottom.There were a few paper doilies with poinsettias on them hanging around from last Christmas, so I set about distressing one of them with some Old Photo distress stain.  Yes, I finally broke down and bought some – now I have to figure out how to use it, lol!  I ended up rubbing it all over, and then took a wet sponge and dabbed at the doily until it was soggy.  At first, I wasn’t that impressed and threw it out, but once it dried I thought it looked much better, so I picked it out of the garbage and used it!  Don’t worry, it’s only my crafting garbage – no gross stuff! The label was stamped with Ruby ink on a piece of off-white, textured paper I had in the scrap bin.  I also added a bit of Old Linen DI to it and inked around the edges.  The upper part of the tin is adorned with gorgeous ribbon.  The rich brown, which was added all the way around the top, was really  wide, so I folded it in half before adhering it to get a layered look.  I made the red grosgrain bow and added the lovely little vintage looking trinket to the middle.And finally, the top of the tin was adorned with a poinsettia, which I cut out, embossed and distressed.  The canvas button was stamped with a snowflake, distressed with a bit of Chocolate ink and finished off with a gem.  Now I have to go bake something to put into it!

Come on back Thursday for the next My Time Made Easy Pretty Palette Challenge.  Until then stay out of trouble and go make something!

10 responses »

  1. This is just brilliant Tracy. So many things to admire about it. So pleased you have shared it with the Hatters this week and given us inspiration yet again with your ideas.

    Love Chrissie xxx

    • Thank you Chrissie. Your sweet comments are always appreciated! And I am the one who should be thanking the Hatters for hosting such great challenges and sharing your fab projects. Always loads of fun. Hugs, Tracy

  2. Hi Tracy, Beautifully decorated in gorgeous colours. It will make the most fab gift with your cookies inside. Love it. Thanks for sharing with us at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra XXX

  3. Hi Tracy, I am still giggling at you taking things out of the bin! Peanut brittle….YUM! Absolutely fantastic project. I cant take my eyes off it. So much fab detail. You must have nimble fingers to make that lovely grosgrain bow. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week. Going back for another look 🙂
    Take care,
    Florence xx

    • Hi Florence. Thanks for all your kind words! I’m not sure about the nimble fingers, but if I remember correctly there were a few choice words flying out of my mouth at the time of that bow making, lol! Grosgrain is definitely not the easiest ribbon to work with for that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

