Christmas Mini Album

Standard

Happy Monday!  The weeks are flying by and I can hardly keep track of what holiday is happening.  While I’ve been in Christmas mode, my kids have been counting down the hours until Halloween.  We are hoping for a dry trick or treat evening, but it looks like the weather gods are trying to throw a hurricane our way.  Luckily for us Eastern Ontarians, we will probably just get some wind and rain, but we’ll be praying for those poor folks on the Eastern seaboard of the United States and Canada for a safe passage through the storm.

Today I wanted to share with you a Christmas mini album I made for a Close To My Heart party I hosted about a week ago.  I had the ladies do this project as a make and take and they were very pleased with the results.  I will be entering it into the Out of a Hat Challenge this week as they are asking for a stocking stuffer idea.  I think a mini album would be a great stocking stuffer for a relative or close friend of the family.The original idea for this came from Nicole Heady’s blog {Capture the Moment}.  There are tonnes of fabulous paper crafting projects there, so I urge you to go take a peek.  You can see this project by clicking here.

I started with 2 pieces of chipboard that measured 6×6.  I then cut one 6×12 strip of Olive green card stock and one 6×12 strip of Cranberry red card stock.  I glued the chipboard pieces to the card stock so that the red was on one side and the green on the other.  I also left about 1 inch of the chipboard showing on each end, which I covered by the very pretty Pear & Partridge Christmas paper.  I wrapped Cranberry Grossgrain ribbon around each side to hide the paper seams.On the inside of the album, I added two trifold panels, which hold my photos.  As you can see, I adorned the outside of each panel with some lovely vintage looking stamps from the Christmas Delights stamp set.  I coloured the images with Copics and popped them up with dimensional foam.  The trifold panels are held closed with Cranberry Baker’s Twine.

Here is a peek of what’s inside each panel… I only put 2 photos in each side but there is room to glue in more folds if you want your album to hold more pictures.  To keep this little album closed I added a small velcro circle to the edge of each side.

I hope you enjoyed this project.  Try one for yourself – you won’t be disappointed with the results.  Have a lovely day everyone and I’ll be back soon with some Halloween pictures of a really cool event we took the kids to on the weekend.  Happy crafting!

11 responses »

  1. Great make again Tracy and thanks for the link as well. I hope you stay safe and enjoy Halloween

    Nice to have you join us at the Hatters again this week.

    Love Chrissie xxxx

  2. Oh Tracy, what a beautiful project to make as a gift. It brought a tear to my eye when I saw your photos. What a lovely family you are. This would be a perfect gift for Grandparents, Aunts, Sisters, best friends and anyone else that is held dear. Y’know I was just thinking if you haven’t got little people wouldn’t it be nice to make one of these using photos of someone’s favourite pets. Thank you so much for sharing this with the Hatters. Have a wonderful week. Can’t wait to see your Halloween photos.
    Regards Florence xx

    • Thank you for such lovely comments, Florence! I love your idea of making one with pets in it. I also thought Christmas traditions or favourite recipes would be a good gift. Hope you’re having a great week! Hugs, Tracy

  3. This is such a great idea, Love how yours turned out. I may just have to try making this for a friend of mine that lives quite a ways away. It looks like it would be pretty easy to mail. Yep, I think I will do this. Thanks for the idea and sharing it with us. Love your blog. Have a great day!

  4. Pingback: Christmas Mini Album « Correna's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

