Happy Ho Ho Ho Holidays!

Standard

Happy November 1st!  I hope everyone had a wonderful Halloween and didn’t indulge in too many little chocolate bars, lol!  And if you did, I promise not to tell.  Today, I am sharing the My Time Made Easy Pretty Palette Challenge #74, and this week’s colours are…So while you are sitting at your computer (eating the leftover Halloween treats), you can check out my Christmas card.  I first printed out a piece of red gingham paper from the Picnic of Patterns digital paper pack, matted it with black card stock, and used it as my backdrop.  I really love the little santa from the Homemade Holiday 20 Images Digital Set, and used him as my focal point.  I opened the image and sentiment in Gimp where I could size and colour it.  I then printed it out on white card stock and used my Cricut to cut out the tag shape.I ended up cutting another larger tag layer in the gray dot paper to frame out the white.  I really like the geometrics happening on this card!  I then added the little red gems at the bottom and the red ribbon at the top of the tag.Now, my Santa tag was looking cute, but I still felt it needed something and decided to add some glitter for texture and sparkle. There’s no time like Christmas to get out the glitter!  I used my Martha Stewart glue pen to spread glue around and then dumped white glitter all over the glued areas.  I tapped off the excess and used a small paint brush to sweep away any lingering offenders.And last but not least, I cut out the black swirls for each corner and stuck a gem in the centre of each.  This card looks really sparkly and pretty up close and personal.

We would really love to see you use these colours on any creation of your own and link it up to the MTME blog site.  You don’t have to use My Time Made Easy products and if you play for the next 4 challenges you have a chance at winning a Pretty Package from the store.  There are loads of fantastic coordinating 3D projects, stamp sets and digital paper packs to choose from, so check it out.

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you back here real soon!

8 responses »

  1. Hello, I love your ideas, I make my own cards for everything, I would love to join chanllenges, but I don’t because I can’t tell where things come from like everyone does. I use a lot of scrap stuff, I cut a lot of images from old premade cards, I dont have any of the machines people do, just my scissors and an exacto knife. My paper is mostly random papers that I have gotton by the piece in different stores like JoAnnes, dollar stores, and such. I bring them home and just pile them and use whatever inspires me when I go to make cards. I don’t buy kits, sometimes I download free stuff online, I make up my own sayings or copy from somewhere and print them. I use a lot of random clip art and because I make a card up as I go, I cant explain how I do it. Does any of this make sense? I check out cardmaking sites all the time and I love your blog and you all have a great way of explaining stuff. Anyway the only way I could enter a challenge is to just simply show a picture of the finished card I have made. So there is my problem, but I love what you have done here and I am sure you will do great in any challenges you join!! Have a great day and happy carding!

    • Hi, Correna! You can certainly enter the challenge by just showing your card. You don’t have to explain anything. The only rule is to use the colours we have chosen – everything else is up to you. You can click the link to My Time Made Easy from my blog page and it will take you to the site where you can upload your photo. BUT I don’t want to pressure you! It’s supposed to be fun and I don’t want you to feel like you have to do anything unless you want to. Hope you’re having a great day! Hugs, Tracy:)

      • Oh, thank you so much, I will do this, I just have a couple quick questions. When does it have to be uploaded by? and are you only showing the front of the card? and one more, is it supposed to be Christmas? I can’t wait to do this, I am so glad you said I could, It will be fun, and you haven’t pressured me at all. I appreciate being encouraged to do stuff, thanks.

      • The photo has to be uploaded on or before Wednesday, Nov 14th, so you have 2 weeks. They will only show the photo you upload but when you upload they will ask you to add your blog page url where they can go to see your card and comment on it. Don’t worry they will only say positive things – everyone is really nice and positive. You can choose whatever theme you want as long as you use the challenge colours. I hope that helps. Let me know if you have any more questions. Can’t wait to see your creation! Tracy:)

Leave a Reply

