Birds of a Feather

Standard

Hi there!  The Out of a Hat Challenge this week is to create something to do with nature.  Now that’s a pretty broad subject, and there are many things to choose from, but I am in Christmas mode and wanted to make a bunch of Christmas gift tags.  So to incorporate the nature theme, I decided to make all my tags with birds on them.  I made six in total and plan to make more, but here is what I finished this weekend…I cut all the tags out with the CTMH Artiste Cricut Cartridge.  On this tag, I used one of the Pear & Partridge Complements Glittery Rub-Ons and heat embossed the Happy Holidays with gold embossing powder.On this tag, I used a strip of Burlap Ribbon around the middle and added a poinsettia brad.  The birds are at the top and are part of the stamped sentiment.My cardinal tag uses the To You and Yours stamp set and is coloured with the CTMH alcohol markers.  The beautiful woodgrain B&T paper is from the Dakota paper packet.This bird was cut with the Artiste cartridge and the edges inked with Cocoa ink.  The bird’s nest is made from a strip of the new CTMH Colonial White Rosette Ribbon.  I used Antique Linen DI to give it a bit of colour.  The edges of the tag were inked with a gold metallic pen and I heat embossed No Peeking in gold.Here is a super simple tag that is stamped using the rock n roll technique.  I added the gems for a bit of sparkle and inked the edges with Bamboo ink.And finally, a kraft tag with more of the Pear & Partridge Glittery Rub-Ons and a few red gems.  For these tags, I kept to a red, green and brown colour palette.  I think for my next round of tags, I might go with blues and greens; maybe some snowflakes and silver????  Not sure yet, but that’s part of the fun!

All in all, making gift tags for your Christmas presents is fun and easy, and really adds a personal touch.  Give it a try, and wow your friends and family this Christmas!  Have a great week, and we’ll see you back here real soon!  Happy crafting!

15 responses »

  1. These are really special gift tags Tracy. Love all of them and the rafia is a terrific idea

    Always great to have you join in with us at the Hatters

    Best wishes. Chrissie xxx

  2. Love how you have created nature with Christmas it works perfectly love it. Its always great to see what you make Tracy. Thanks for joining us at OOAH. Hugs Sandra X

  3. Love these, They are beautiful. I have never made tags before, but I think I may try it. Do you use these for gift tags, or scrap books. I think they would make great book marks to add to cards. (I probably just wouldn’t use the glitter for that). Have great day!

    • Hi Correna. I will probably use these for Christmas presents instead of the store bought tags. They are really fun and easy to make and are so much more impressive than the ones you buy. You should give it a try. The sky’s the limit and they take no time. Thanks for stopping by! Tracy:)

Leave a Reply

