Red & White

Standard

Hi friends!  I made two cards today, one for the Out of a Hat challenge, which features locks and keys, and the other for the Heart2Heart challenge, which is asking for projects with a gratitude theme.  AND it just so happens that while I was preparing my photos for this post, I found out the Addicted To Stamps and More! blog is hosting a red and white theme.  So needless to say, since both my cards feature red and white, I will be entering them into that challenge as well.  Here is my first card, featuring a lock and key… A friend and I were shopping at IKEA last week and we came across gift wrapping tape coloured red and white.  Looks just like Washi tape but much, much cheaper.  I paid $1.99 for three rolls!  SCORE!  Naturally, I wanted to try it out on a card, so this was the inspiration for the colour scheme.I took 3 strips of the red tape with white polka dots and taped it onto a piece of white card stock.  I then cut out a heart shape with my Cricut, which I turned into a lock.  I also cut out the black key with the Cricut and adhered it underneath the  heart.  The sentiment is from the CTMH Chairs to You stamp set (retired), which was stamped onto a white chipboard cutout.  The background was run through the Cuttlebug with the Swiss Dots embossing folder.  And here is the inside…My second card is a gratitude card and also features the IKEA tape.  Loving this tape!!!Again, a couple of strips of each of the patterned tapes were taped onto white card stock, after which I cut out the flower shapes.  The CTMH Art Philosphy cartridge was used for all my die cuts.  This sentiment is from the CTMH Friendship Bouquet stamp set (retired) and adhered with a piece of CTMH Cranberry Grosgrain Ribbon.The middle of each flower sports a blingy button or gem – all compliments of CTMH!  The Swiss Dots background was also used again on this card.  It’s such a classic!

And the inside…So please take a moment and check out these three fabulous blogs for some terrific inspiration and ideas (Out of a Hat Creations, Heart2Heart, Addicted to Stamps and More!).  If nothing else, it gives you a few moments to drink another coffee and forget about your other duties, lol!

Hope you’re having a wonderful week.  Happy crafting!

15 responses »

  1. Just gorgeous, Tracy! Perfect cards for our challenge this week. I am really loving red and white together now I have seen such wonderful cards from the DT. I truly love your sentiment on the second card! Thanks so much for playing along at ATSM! xx

  2. Brilliant idea to use the tape as you have done Tracy. All ofthe cards are terrific.

    Thanks for sharing them with Out of a Hat it’s always good to have you join us in the challenges

    Best wishes Chrissie xxx

  3. Hi Tracy. Stunning cards. You’ve done well with your challenges. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters locks and keys challenge this week. Always lovely to see your projects. With my other hat on, thank you so much for joining in the ATS&M challenge as well. Fab take on the red and white theme.
    Regards Florence x

  4. Hi Tracy, love those cards such a fab colour scheme, as a quilter I just love red work and this is reminiscent of that style. The lock and key is brilliant. Thanks for joining us at OOAH. Oo and that tape is such a bargain. Hugs Sandra X

  5. LOVE that tape! IKEA, you say? You did an excellent job of lining up the multiple strips of tape–I can’t see any joins.
    Very cheery cards. Just shows that red isn’t just for Xmas!
    C

  6. Both cards are so fab!! Love the red and white (especially the polka-dot tape)! And then repeating that polka-dot theme with the white polka-dot background is PERFECT! Thanks for joining us at ATS&M this week!!

  7. Hi there – both cards are just terrific. Love something different about each of them. Your red flowers are really sweet and I like how you stretched the sentiment across the bottom. Thanks for playing along with our Red and White Addicted to Stamps and More! Challenge this week.

Leave a Reply

