Out of a Mad Hatters Tea Party Challenge

Standard

Hello, friends!  My post today is an RSVP to the Out of a Hat Creations Mad Hatters Tea Party Challenge.  They are having a cyber tea party to welcome in the New Year, and the challenge is to make a card or project in response to their invitation.I'm very fond of tea.

This is a very bizarre card for me.  Because it is a Mad Hatters tea party, I was inspired to create something abstract, but this does not feel intuitive to me.  One of my goals this year is to learn more about distressing and altered art projects.  So I guess this was a small step towards that goal.Alice

I started out with an image of Alice swimming in her own tears and imported it into GIMP photo editing software.  I then took a teacup image from the My Time Made Easy A Spot of Tea digital stamp set and edited the two images together.  Alice surely does like her tea!AliceAfter distressing the card stock with sandpaper, the edges were inked, and images stamped all over.  I tried to use things that are in reference to the book or to add to the distressed look.

That’s pretty much it from me today.  Hope you’re having a terrific weekend.  Thanks for stopping by!

7 responses »

  1. Hi Tracy

    You have certainly gone to town on your reply and it is just terrific. Welcome to the party and I hope 2013 is a great year for you.

    Thank you for your continued support at Out of a Hat.

    Love Chrissie xxxx

  2. I absolutely love this. I think you are going to do great at altered art and distressing! I am planning on learning new stuff too,l want to learn watercolor pencil blending and how to do some of the projects Vivian has recently been doing.I really hope you win this challenge because this looks like the perfect answer, I love the sentiment too.Have a great day!

    • Hi Correna. I think you’ll really enjoy the watercolour pencil blending. It’s so pretty. I haven’t used my watercolours in a long while. Maybe I should get them out again. Thanks for your lovely comments. Tracy:)

Leave a Reply

