Sweet As Honey

Standard

Happy Friday to you!  I have a really cool card to share with you today for the Heart2Heart Challenge happening this week.  They are looking for projects/cards with folds.  After searching different styles of cards on the web, I found one called a book box card.  LOVE IT!Book Box CardThis card looks like a shadow box, but the front cover opens like a card.  The tutorial I found online used an embossed acetate window on the front cover, so I did the same (you know I love acetate!).  But you could just as easily make a regular card front so the inside is a surprise for the recipient.Book Box CardPaper from the new CTMH Buzz & Bumble paper pack was used on this card.  The branches and beehive were cut using the Art Philosophy and Artiste Cricut Cartridges.  To get the rounded lines on the beehive, Cocoa ink was sponged on using a piece of circular cardstock as a mask.  I then used a dotty hexagon stamp from the new Honeycomb stamp set to add a subtle dotted pattern in Crème Brulée ink.  My bumblebee is from the Jardin stamp set.Beehive CloseupI think the flowers on this card were the only non-CTMH products.  I had the little orange premade blossoms in my stash, so I used those on the tree branches.Sweet As HoneyFor a complete set of instructions on how to make a book box card click here.  The instructions are really clear and there are lots of photos.  Have a great weekend everyone and hopefully you’ll have some time to try a book box card of your own.

Happy crafting!

~Tracy

CTMH Supplies:
Cardstock:  Colonial White, Crème Brulée, Cocoa, Olive
Buzz and Bumble B&T Duos Paper
Cocoa Ink, Crème Brulée Ink
Sponge dauber
Artiste Cricut Cartridge
Art Philosophy Cricut Cartridge
Accessories: Burlap Ribbon, Color-Ready Kraft Borders, Hook & Loop Dots, 3D Tape
Stamps: Honeycomb, Jardin
 

 

14 responses »

  1. This is a really wonderful card. I love the technique on this. I will have to try it when I get time. I checkd out the tutorial on it and it does look pretty easy. Thanks for sharing it. I just watched another tutoral on an acetate front card you might like from another site I follow here: http://www.card-making-magic.com/acetatefrontcardtutorial.html This one looks easy to and I thought of you when I saw it because of you liking the acetate. It is pretty neat, let me know if you get a chance to check it out what you think. Have a great day, and again I love this project!!

    • Hi Correna! I’m so glad you like the card. You really should give it a try. It was a lot of fun dreaming up a theme and creating a scene, and there are so many options with this. I’d love to see what you dream up!

    • Hi Caroline! You are making me blush, lol! Thank you for your kind comments. I was really pleased with this card. It ended up having a life of its own and I couldn’t stop building it until it was done, if you know what I mean! Great to hear from you – I hope all is well. Tracy

  2. Your book card is amazingly beautiful with all its details. Thanks for a tutorial link too as I’ve never seen this style before. Thanks so much for joining us @ H2H!

  3. I’m at a loss for words…..’
    This is truly stunning! You’ve done an absolutely incredible job and your attention to detail is top notch! I don’t recall ever seeing this type of card. Love to learn something knew! Amazing job! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Heart 2 Heart! I hope you will join us again. 🙂

  4. I finally have a chance to browse and WOWSERS! This card is phenomenal. An absolute labor of love here, Tracy. I could not even pick what I like best as my jaw lies here on the keyboard. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

