Chantilly Dresses

Standard

Hello friends.  This week the Heart2Heart Challenge is home décor.  While I was roaming around Pinterest yesterday, I found a picture of map dresses – that’s right – dresses made out of maps.  They were absolutely adorable and I just had to try making my own paper dresses.  Now the ones on Pinterest didn’t have any instructions on how to make them, so I went ahead and made it up!  I also decided to frame them so they could be used as home décor.  Here’s the first of four.Chantilly Dress #1I used the Chantilly paper pack from Close To My Heart for all the dresses.Closeup #1Each dress bottom consists of a strip of card stock that measures 3 3/4″ by 10 1/2″.  It was scored at every 1/2″ interval and then folded to get a box pleat.  You could do an accordion fold as well, which I’m sure would look equally as cute.Chantilly Dress #2Once the pleats were folded, I gathered them together at the top and stapled them to form a waist. Closeup #2For the background mattes I used cardstock in the coordinating colours of the paper pack – Pear, Buttercup, Twilight, and Cotton Candy.Chantilly Dress #3For the tops of the dresses, I cut squares and then cut out arm holes and/or collars or straps, depending on the style I was going for.Closeup #3The staples on the skirt part of the dress were covered with a cumberbund or ribbon, depending on where the urge took me!Chantilly Dress #4And another little strappy number!Closeup #4I used some IKEA frames I had lying around to frame the dresses up.  The great thing about these frames is they are about an inch deep so they can be used like shadow boxes.  Perfect for my little dresses.  Wouldn’t these be cute in a little girl’s room?

Hope you’re having a great weekend.  Have a crafty day!

~Tracy

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

6 responses »

  1. You should be a fashion designer, if you’re not already! LOL….they are all so cute! Thanks for sharing them and for joining in the H2H challenge. And congrats on being in the January Top 10! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

