Dog Days of Summer

Standard

Yo, dawg wassup?  Hahaha!  Just thought I’d get that in there, because the Heart 2 Heart challenge this week is the dog days of summer.  The ladies over there want us to create a summery project which includes dogs.  Strangely (or maybe not so strangely) I don’t own any dog stamps, and am not a dog owner (I have kids instead!), so I don’t even have any cute photos of dogs!

Not to worry though.  I found two really cute free digital dog stamps on the internet at Operation Write Home.  Interesting site.  These guys actually collect handmade cards to send overseas to US troops to help them stay in touch with their loved ones back home.  Great idea.  You can check them out by clicking on the link.

My first card has this cute little guy waiting for his buddy to come back.  Awwww!  I digitally coloured the picture using Gimp software (kinda like Photoshop), which I am fairly new to.  It was a bit of a learning curve, but I managed it, and printed it out with my inkjet printer.  I paired this sweet image with the CTMH Dakota paper pack, and a sentiment from the For Every Occasion stamp set.  The embellishments are a CTMH Antiqued Copper Designer Brad, and Chocolate Baker’s Twine from the Neutral Assortment pack.

My second card uses the CTMH Avonlea paper pack, and another cute digital stamp designed by the same person – Eric Dull.  I coloured this image the old-fashioned way – using my Copic markers!  I decided to distress the papers on this card with chocolate ink, and my CTMH Edge Distresser.  The sentiment is, again, from the For Every Occasion stamp set, and the embellishments are Chocolate Baker’s Twine, and an antiqued copper Durable Square Stud (are you thinking what I’m thinking? LOL).  BTW both card sketches are from the Originals Card Confidence book.

So that’s my take on the dog days of summer.  I hope you are enjoying your dog days of summer.  Happy crafting!

 

About papercraftnut

I am a working mom of two great kids and married to a wonderful man who is very supportive of my paper crafting addiction! I discovered paper crafts while organizing birthday parties for my kids. It was so fun to make the invitations, decorations and loot bags. The fun hasn't stopped and now I LOVE anything paper!

13 responses »

  1. Love the cards! Those dog stamps are really cute. I especially liked the colouring on the “thinking of you” card. Great work, as usual. (PS. I have some dogs you can borrow if you want a canine fix 😉

    • Hey Kim. I think I am good for the canines! I have to move on to mouse traps for the Hatters next week – gulp! Still trying to think of something not too ridiculous for that one LOL!

  2. Hi Tracy. These are brilliant. Beautifully made as always. You did so well with the doggie challenge. Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the M. trap challenge on the 23rd.
    Regards Florence x

  3. Thanks for your comments, Tracy. Your puppy cards are sweet and hilarious, in that order. And i love your garden in the background of your photographs… Aren,t digital stamps fun? Kudos to you on coloring them in digitally. I haven’t gotten that brave yet, although my kids have recommended GIMP to me, too. Good luck with the mousetrap thing!

Leave a comment